Guidelines - Call for 2016 Arryman Fellows

The Indonesian Scholarship and Research Support Foundation (ISRSF) invites talented young Indonesian graduates holding at least S1 degree to apply for the 2016 Arryman Fellows award. This award is an innovative “1+6” educational scholarship leading to the doctoral degree.

During the first year, Arryman Fellows are funded to be in residence at Northwestern University in Chicago (USA) as pre-doctoral researchers. Fellows take graduate classes for credit in their chosen field of study, receive advanced English language training, and write a major research paper. ISRSF seeks applicants in the fields of political science, history, law, journalism and communications, anthropology, sociology, or development studies.

Arryman Fellows who are successfully admitted during their first year to a Northwestern Ph.D. program are eligible to become Arryman Scholars. This six-year award covers the second phase of the “1+6” design. Arryman Scholars receive full tuition, a stipend for living expenses, travel and research support, as well as other funding to advance their scholarly development.

After obtaining their Ph.D, all Arryman Scholars are required to serve for a period equal to their academic support as academic staff or researchers at the Center for Public Policy Transformation, which is supported by the Rajawali Foundation, Harvard Kennedy School, Northwestern University. This Center will evolve into the School of Public Policy and Social Sciences.

Eligibility requirements to apply for an Arryman Fellows award:

  • Indonesian citizens, preferably 35 years or younger.

  • College or university graduates with at least an S1 degree and a strong record of performance in their program.

  • A deep commitment to becoming a world-class scholar devoted to an academic career of teaching, research, and publication.

  • A minimum iBT TOEFL score of 70 and a test date after June 1, 2013

If you are interested in applying to become an Arryman Fellow, please complete the online application at Before create an account, you can read our User Guide .The online application opens beginning on June 1st, 2015. The deadline for ISRSF to receive your application (including letters of reference) is December 31st, 2015.

The Arryman educational awards are made possible thanks to the generous financial support of these benefactors : PT Adaro Energy, PT AKR Corporindo Tbk., PT Bank Central Asia,
PT Djarum, the Ford Foundation, the Rajawali Foundation, and the William Soeryadjaja Foundation.

The Arryman Program is in association with the Indonesian Ministry of Education and Culture – Beasiswa Unggulan