The 2014 Arryman Symposium

Posted: 06-07-2014 | ISRSF
Category: berita

The 2014 Arryman Symposium was held on June 21, 2014, at the Ford Foundation Auditorium in Jakarta.

This year’s Arryman Fellows presented the following academic papers:

  • Luthfi Adam: “Transformation of Dress and National Subject Formation of Indonesian People in the Colonial Period.” The discussant of his paper is Prof. Manneke Budiman, University of Indonesia.
  • Muhammad Fajar: “The Durability of Sub-national Political Leaders in Post-authoritarian Indonesia.” The discussant of his paper is Prof. Edward Gibson, Northwestern University.
  • Najmu Sopian: “Power Struggle over Land: Decentralization, Land Tenure Security, and the Rule of Law in Indonesia.” The discussant of her paper is Prof. William Hurst, Northwestern University.
  • Rahardhika Utama: “The Impact of Bureaucratic Clientelism on Inequality, the Cases of Post-authoritarian Indonesia.” The discussant of his paper is Prof. Jordan Gans-Morse, Northwestern University.

These papers provided a range of important insights and sparked interesting questions and comments from the discussants and the audience.  We thank everyone who attended for making this event so successful!

In addition to the academic parts of the program, the Symposium also included some important announcements and ceremonies.  ISRSF proudly announced that all four of the Fellows listed above were admitted to doctoral programs at Northwestern University, as was Hipolitus Ringgi, a 2012 Arryman Fellow.  In recognition of this achievement, ISRSF awarded these five students the status of Arryman Scholar.

ISRSF also officially announced its new Arryman Fellows.  This year they are Kadek Wara Urwasi, Sabina Puspita Satriyani, and Yoes Chandra Kenawas.  Our warmest congratulations to our new Arryman Fellows and Scholars!

Another important part of the Symposium is the ceremony recognizing our family of donors who make this major educational initiative possible.  Certificates of appreciation were presented to PT Adaro, PT AKR Corporindo, PT Bank Central Asia, PT Djarum, the Ford Foundation, the Rajawali Foundation, and the William Soeryadjaya Foundation.  We are sincerely grateful to all of you!

DSC_3105.jpeg DSC_3106.jpeg DSC_3108.jpeg DSC_3110.jpeg DSC_3114.jpeg DSC_3119.jpeg DSC_3126.jpeg DSC_3129.jpeg DSC_3144.jpeg DSC_3148.jpeg DSC_3150.jpeg DSC_3157.jpeg DSC_3158.jpeg DSC_3159.jpeg DSC_3160.jpeg DSC_3162.jpeg DSC_3164.jpeg DSC_3185.jpeg DSC_3190.jpeg DSC_3201.jpeg DSC_3212.jpeg DSC_3220.jpeg DSC_3237.jpeg DSC_3243.jpeg DSC_3248.jpeg DSC_3249.jpeg DSC_3253.jpeg DSC_3258.jpeg DSC_3260.jpeg DSC_3264.jpeg DSC_3266.jpeg DSC_3270.jpeg DSC_3274.jpeg DSC_3280.jpeg DSC_3289.jpeg DSC_3290.jpeg DSC_3297.jpeg DSC_3303.jpeg DSC_3315.jpeg DSC_3306.jpeg DSC_3308.jpeg DSC_3317.jpeg DSC_3324.jpeg DSC_3326.jpeg DSC_3333.jpeg DSC_3346.jpeg DSC_3360.jpeg DSC_3363.jpeg DSC_3367.jpeg DSC_3370.jpeg DSC_3375.jpeg DSC_3385.jpeg DSC_3396.jpeg DSC_3415.jpeg DSC_3429.jpeg DSC_3430.jpeg DSC_3431.jpeg DSC_3433.jpeg